Changes to Scholars Housing for 2011-12

The Echols, Rodman and University Scholars programs have, for many years, been housed in Maupin, Webb and Lile houses in the Alderman Road Area.  Since those buildings are all scheduled to be demolished this summer a decision needed to be made about where the Scholars programs would reside in the future.  For all parties, it seemed to make the most sense to keep the programs in the same location, which means that they will be housed in the 2 new buildings that are currently under construction.  These 2 new buildings are replacing 4 of the existing buildings, so there is more space in them than is needed for the scholars programs.  It was decided that 1/2 of each of the new buildings will be allocated as space for the scholars programs.  Students in the scholars programs will be assigned to the upper floors of each of the 2 new buildings.  Scholars who wish to have a non-scholar roommate will also be placed in these buildings.   It will make things a little easier once names have been chosen for these buildings.  We hope that the University will announce the names soon.

2 Responses to “Changes to Scholars Housing for 2011-12”

  1. 1 John Stevans June 13, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Do we know when the names of what are now being called the Commons Building and Buildings 1 and 2 will be announced?

    • 2 jre9s July 6, 2011 at 8:32 am

      The University released that information in a press release yesterday morning. Building one is Balz-Dobie, Building 2 is Watson-Webb and the Commons Building is the Ern Commons.

Comments are currently closed.


We hope you'll find helpful information on the Housing application and assignment process. Send us questions at and we'll answer them here.

%d bloggers like this: